Truth, Justice, and a Pledge

Standard

Leaning Tower

“There can be no vulnerability without risk; there can be no community without vulnerability; there can be no peace, and ultimately no life, without community.”  ~~M. Scott Peck

Honesty is one of my favorite words. I’ve loved it since childhood. It smells like trees in a summer wind, looks like a clear blue sky at noon, and tastes like honey. To me it means the intimate comfort of telling a secret story to my best friend…warm, delicate, and sweet. How lovely to live in that place.

Life taught me that honesty is not the same thing as Truth. Truth is like a brick. It’s essential to building a lasting “real” foundation for your life, it’s shape & texture can vary, and it sometimes hits you painfully hard. There are more axioms about truth than you’d care to count… Truth is stranger than fiction… the Truth will out… the Truth is rarely pure & never simple (Oscar Wilde). We claim to love the truth, but truthfully prefer a pretty lie.

There are degrees of truth. Layers. How much of my “Truth” should I share? If I do not share every detail, am I withholding the truth? No. In fact, Truth often hides in the shadows, just behind what you think you see. We insist we must face The Truth, but sometimes the Truth doesn’t come right out to be faced. Sometimes all we can do is be honest about what we experience.

Truth & Justice are thought to travel together. We believe Truth, when fully understood, naturally leads to Justice. Fairness. Harmony. Right-being. Superman is characterized as the champion of Truth, Justice, and the American Way… but what, exactly, does that mean? The American Way includes things that don’t align with either one. And it all depends on who tells the story.

And Storytelling is what life is all about. More than telling the stories of our experiences, we humans tell the stories of what our experiences mean to us in our search for Truth, Justice, Love, Acceptance,… and in sharing our stories honestly, we bring out into the open our own honest slices of Truth. We are often inspired by the honest stories shared by others.

It is in the spirit of Honest Storytelling that I make the following pledge:

I pledge my commitment to the Blog for Mental Health 2014 Project. I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others. By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health. I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma. 

Blog for Mental Health 2014

This project, sponsored by A Canvas of the Minds, brings together blogs from around the web that address the experiences, successes, and challenges of people who live with mental illness– whether their own or that of someone they love. Awareness obliterates the stigma. Mental health issues affect us all, whether we’re consciously aware or not.

I live with depression. I was first diagnosed when I was in my mid-thirties, but have experienced the symptoms of severe depression since I was an adolescent. Of course, I’ve experienced joyful times, unhappy times, successes & failures,… just like everyone. It’s just that sometimes the filter through which I experience life is fogged. There is a history of depression, suicide attempts, alcoholism, and other mental illnesses in my family. It’s not their fault any more than it is mine. This is a curse visited upon the generations of my family. We treat it the best ways we can, based on the understanding we have at the time.

I also recognize the symptoms of Complex Post-Traumatic Disorder in my life, though this is not an “official” diagnosis. I’m still finding the ability to tell the story of my experiences with this. Honesty is the best policy, but looking the Gorgon in the face has dire consequences.

While I won’t be blogging exclusively on the topic of mental health, it is the foundation of everything I share on the Cosmic Carousel. It underscores my art, my writing, & my volunteer work. Wellness of mind & emotion is as important as wellness of the body. If what I share inspires you, I invite you to share your own stories, images, links to your own explorations… I appreciate your honesty. It’s like a letter from a childhood friend…

10 responses »

  1. awesome!!! I may join the blog for mental health project. something tasty for me to chew on metaphorically! honesty and truth are dear to me as well!
    I think you and I are gonna make a nice connection…

    peace,
    Linda

    • Thank you, Linda. Please do join! The more information we share, the more human a face we put on the conditions we live with. Depression doesn’t mean “I feel sorry for myself,” and PTSD doesn’t only happen to soldiers in war.

      I’m certain we’ll all learn something important from you.

      Peace, Love & Pomegranates to you.

      • thank you for your encouragement. does the blog have to be primarily about mental health? Mine is about my spiritual journey.

        PS love pomegranates :)

        xx Linda

      • Your blog doesn’t have to be exclusively about mental illness or mental health. Just click the Blog for Mental Health badge up there in the right column —–>

        She explains everything.

        p.s. Pomegranates have great spiritual significance…

  2. I commend you on your choice of projects; it is extremely worthwhile. There is a stigma that generally accompanies mental health issues (often propagated by ignorant bullies) that often cause people to not want to discuss such matters. Someone very dear to me has been diagnosed with Aspergers syndrome and PTSD, but does not wish anybody to know because of past experience, and yet this person is very intelligent, gregarious, and liked by most people encountered. While I understand this dear friends reservations, I also admire the courage you exhibit by publishing this post. To bring this comment to a quick conclusion, allow me to make this statement:

    My deepest concern and amazement about the modern world is that people deemed “normal” usually seem the most unbalanced.

    • Thank you, Steve. You are precisely correct that the stigma attached to mental illness is propagated by ignorant bullies. The beauty of the healing process is that you come to recognize that the only reason the bullies bully is that they recognize something in the target that is profoundly familiar… and uncomfortable. It’s a twisted, but beautiful dark dance that many of us experience in childhood.

      Aspergers Syndrome and its kissing cousin, Autism, are now recognized as part of a spectrum of developmental “disorders” (for lack of a better word)…and the intellectual & creative levels of children diagnosed in the spectrum are frequently genius level and above. Some recent theories suggest that this spectrum may actually be an evolutionary stage of human development. Who knows what future research will reveal?

      I agree with you about the whole “normal” thing… normal is a setting on the dryer… Blessed Be.

  3. Pingback: BLOGGING FOR MENTAL HEALTH – LIKE MY LIFE DEPENDS ON IT | Phoenix Fights

  4. Pingback: “My Personal “Pledge” To Be A Part Of The 2014 ” A Canvas Of The Minds Project”… | Just A Recovery Author Learning To Be A Better Writer

  5. Pingback: The Cosmic Carousel | The Official Blog For Mental Health Project

  6. Thank you for stopping by my blog.

    I have received treatment for PTSD, only recently in my 25+ years with the mental health system. I’ve been learning about cPTSD from other bloggers here at WordPress, and I think it is more fitting for me, too, with the abuse and trauma I experienced repeatedly over a number of years.

    I have a son with autism. There is so much you’ve said that I can relate to, and speak to, but I will finish my comment as is for now. Thanks again.

Is that something on your mind? Leave it here, please...

